Clifton R. Wharton Jr. Distinguished Alumni Award - This award recognizes an MSU Black alumna or alumnus who has proven pioneering leadership, dedication to interracial harmony, outstanding community involvement and a commitment to the MSUBA goals and objectives. (This person does not have to be a member of MSUBA.)

Rising Star Award - This award recognizes a recent MSU alumna or alumnus who has shown outstanding promise and innovation. This person has significantly begun to contribute to their respective career area and/or community.

The Trailblazer Alumni Award - This award recognizes a person who has enhanced the MSUBA mission and goals through outstanding innovation and groundbreaking achievement. This person does not have to be a member of MSUBA or a graduate of MSU. However, this person must be MSU as either a faculty, staff or current Black Alumni of MSU.

Community Service / University Service Award - This award recognizes a person who has made significant contributions to the community, MSUBA or MSU through their time, actions, talents, and dedication.


Mrs. Daphne Turpin Forbes, Clifton R. Wharton Distinguished Alumni Award  

Dr. Ebony Roberts, Rising Star Award    

Mr. Charles Harell II, Trailblazer Alumni Award   

Dr. Dorinda Carter Andrews,  Community Service/University Service Award 

Mr. Mark C. Smith
, Clifton R. Wharton Distinguished Alumni Award  
Mr. Jayce Hill, Rising Star Award    
Mr. Michael Alston
, Trailblazer Alumni Award   
Mrs. Bridgette Jackson, Community Service/University Service Award 

Kasey Coleman
Farone K. Paramore
Sherkia Hawkins
Dr. Clarence Underwood

Felicia Turrentine Wasson
Savarior Moss-Service
Alison Vaughn
Kellie Boyd

Robinson Nunn
Harold Henderson
Steve Smith
Damien Crutcher

A. Gregory Eaton
Dr. Paulette C. Walker
Roderick D. Guillium

Harold W. Bulger, Jr., Law
Eric Hamilton, Information & Technology
Wanda Herndon, Business
Jemele Hill, Journalism/Multi-Media
Annelle Lewis, Business
Glenda Lewis, Journalism/Multi-Media
Dr. Wanda Lipscomb, Medicine
Carlos Marino, Community Outreach
Barbara Roberts Mason, Education
Kirk Mayes, Community Outreach
Dr. Jerel Owens, Medicine
James A. Raye, Jr., Sports
Theda L. Rudd, Entrepreneur
Paulette Granberry Russell, Social Justice
Dr. George H. Simmons, Science/Engineering

Ingrid Saunders Jones
Dr. Ernest Betts
Dr. Robert Green




If you were a Distinguished Alumni and you are not listed please send an email to with your full name and the year you were awarded.